Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The following is an e-mail exchange I shared with a long-standing friend which reveals our level of cognitive grasp on matters spiritual and the importance of bringing all things under the word of God’s power. The names and conditions have been changed to insure anonymity of the subjects. Otherwise this exchange is unedited.

1st Mail:

Oooooooh, I guess we’re out of town again. That town must be Amitville, where horrible things happen. You can’t answer e-mails, take or send phone calls from that horrible little town. I don’t know if I would be frequenting such a questionable town of dubious reputation for horrible things. Did I read something about “friend for life”. WELL I AIN’T DEAD YET…….SO WHAT’S UP!

2nd Mail— Forwarded mail from a friend:


The Love Dress
A woman stopped by, unannounced, at her son’s house. She knocked on the
door then immediately walked in. She was shocked to see her daughter-in-law lying on the couch, totally naked. Soft music was playing, and the aroma of perfume filled the room.

“What are you doing?!” she asked.
“I’m waiting for Mike to come home from work,” the daughter-in- law
answered.
“But you’re naked!” the mother-in-law exclaimed.
“This is my love dress,” the daughter-in-law explained.
“Love dress? But you’re naked!”
“Mike loves me and wants me to wear this dress,” she explained.” It
excites him to no end. Every time he sees me in this dress, he instantly
becomes romantic and ravages me for hours on end. He can’t get enough of
me”
The mother-in-law left.
When she got home, she undressed, showered, put on her best perfume,
dimmed the lights, put on a romantic CD, and lay on the couch, waiting
for her husband to arrive. Finally, her husband came home. He walked in
and saw her lying there so provocatively.
“What are you doing?” he asked.
“This is my love dress,” she whispered sensually.
“Needs ironing,” he said. “What’s for dinner?
He never heard the gunshot.

1St Reply Mail:

Hey Tony,
Very funny! funny indeed.
Just wanted you to know that I have been going through a difficult period. I was not ignoring you, well not deliberately anyway. I returned home early from my trip because my daughter was very ill. I did not respond to your earlier email because my first priority was to take care of Jane Doe Jr. and I did not want to respond to your sarcastic email in anger.
Suffice it to say that we should not judge someone’s action based on what we think or believe to be true because we could be wrong, and you were dead wrong. Jane Doe Jr. has (************** disease) and has been hospitalized for over a month with this illness. I returned home early because she had another flare up and spending time on the computer was not on my list of things to do.
Am I telling you off? sort of. Its just that when I finally read your email it seemed that you were upset or disappointed with me but what I really needed was a brother in Christ to pray for me.
Thank God He’s not as judgemental as WE ( yes I am included) are.
Hope we are still friends for life because that was a really funny email and it made me laugh. Thanks Tony!

Friend for LIFE
Jane Doe

Last Mail:

Great to hear from someone I love,

Two things—1st) Just looking through the rear-view mirror, I’m not sure just how I’d go about qualifying for greater honor as a more valuable friend……….you know what —scratch that cause I think I know. A more dear friend to you would have been Jesus, I could have been him. Just walk up to your daughter’s situation, grab that condition by the throat and remind you just what place those blemishes have in our glorious heritage as kings kids by thrashing it like the red-headded step sister right in front of you and then tossing it into some dry place to wither and die. That’s the kind of friend I want to be, but even Elijah when kept in the dark winds up looking like a cross-eyed deer in the headlights.

2nd) I’m not on board with what you are saying about your daughter. Search the scriptures and you will find out that much to Jane Doe Jr., and your comfort, your mouth is the new law of the earth declaring, and ordering the mind of God over all things. I’m sure you know you can’t drive using the gas and brake petals simultaneously. Before you go anywhere you have to find the gear that sympathetic to the motion you desire, and keep it there till that motion is complete. I encourage you to find and choose such words that gives that condition a way out of your daughter’s life instead of the home it seeks. When you say it is her’s (Jane Doe Jr. has (************** disease)), you give it a home with her, you confirm her ownership of that thing.

We are not always thinking about the meaning of words, but a loaded gun will do unintentional damage if handled unintentionally. Words create pictures in our minds; you have to create a picture with your words that paint the desired world for your daughter without that condition, and help her to see that too. This is an unintuitive manner of conduct and is not done without deliberate, conscious effort. You are starting out at an advantage. Jesus oftentimes had to ask these things their names, well you know the name of this condition already. Now consider your position with respect to this thing. If it has a name, and clearly it does; in Christ you are lifted up above it as far as heaven is high above the earth—and removed as far as the east is removed from the west; it hasn’t got a prayer, or snowball’s chance in hell of prevailing. You have to whup it like an ugly dog till it runs away from what it thought could be a home. Remember this was not sent for you to claim ownership of it, but only as an exercise for you to know the power of God to deliver. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him from them all that include this condition. This stupid thing thinks you don’t know that—it’s banking on it. That why brother’s and sisters can be such an asset in these experiences. Sometimes we need to be reminded of the things we already know…. LIKE: Abraham considered not he deadness of his nor Sarah’s bodies now long past child bearing age. He didn’t see himself as being childless, but by the word of God’s promise created a picture of a world he could choose to look at instead of the thing that challenged him. You have to do your due diligence and craft words that form that picture. Sometimes when you can’t, your best laid plan is to say nothing. When Elijah asked the Great woman about how things were going. Though her son was laid up dead at home she said…it is well. I’m now taking away that condition permanently from our Jane Doe Jr.’s world, and I would consider it a great favor if you would agree with me.

God Speed and lets stay in touch

Fellow Lifer

VISIT HOME FOR MOST RECENT OF SEVERAL POSTS, FRESHLY PRESSED

